Good luck at the Miss Ghana USA pageant

E59A4026cfbAs another pageant weekend approaches, it’s time for me to wish my best friend, Akua (Idia) Tokunboh, good luck at the Miss Ghana USA pageant.

We’ve been friends since freshman year at WSU!  She’s currently a pharmacist and graduated from the KU School of Pharmacy last year. I am so proud of her accomplishments!

IMG_2529

I call her my African sister and think of her as an African queen.  It’s probably why it’s fitting that she’s competing in the pageant this weekend in New York City.  The winner of the Miss Ghana USA goes on to compete at Miss Africa USA. You can read her essay by clicking here.

Now, here’s an update of my wonderful Indian sister. If your recall, my last post was to wish Megha good luck as she represented the Asian Festival at the Miss Kansas’ Outstanding Teen pageant.

IMG_3398

Guess what?!? She won!!!

IMG_3409Last month, she was crowned Miss Kansas’ Outstanding Teen 2014 and she’ll represent Kansas at Miss America’s Outstanding Teen, July 29 to August 2 in Orlando. You can vote for her by going to this site, https://fourpointsmagazine.com/maoteen-americas-choice/item/1383-kansas.

I’m so excited that we both will compete in the state of Florida that same week but that also means that I won’t get to see her in Orlando. She has a great support system, including her lovely grandmas, so I’m sure they’ll cheer extra loud for me. Wishing my little sister, good luck at MAOT!  IMG_3390

Leave a Reply

