Time For Soups

It’s that time of the year where cooler temperatures are among us and what does that mean?  Well, for those that only like soup when it’s cold, then, its time for soups!

I re-introduce to you “Tanya’s Soup Kitchen.”  It truly is one of my favorite lunch spots and it’s even better now that it can warm me up so that I can report in the frigid cold winds of Kansas.  I introduced Tanya’s to both phojos Scheffer and Gio, and I believe they are fans too.  Every time I walk into the restaurant, I’m eager to see what’s on the board.  There’s always a new soup that I haven’t tried and I’m never disappointed with my selection.

Another favorite spot of mine is Barn’rds near 21st Street and Woodlawn.  They have my favorite vegetable beef soup.  I always combine it with the delicious BBQ beef sandwich.  It reminds me of my days in college whenever I eat there.

My favorite sushi place, Wasabi, also has a warm treat.  I enjoy eating their seafood udon noodles with the beef stock soup.  Although, I have to say that in terms of udon noodles, I still prefer the sweet udon noodles at Kanai (on the west side of Wichita).  In one of my next entries, I’ll have to introduce you to pho, Vietname noodles in soup.

Volunteering in south Wichita has its perks…re-visiting Restaurante Usuleteco.  After my friends and I volunteered at the Lord’s Diner, we visited the restaurant at about  7:45 p.m.  The staff was kind enough to let us order and eat our food, even though they closed at 8 p.m. on Friday!  I don’t recall any soups on the menu but I thought this would serve as a nice reminder of this mom-and-pop restaurant.  If you’re looking to break from the routine or are looking for something good and new, then I recommend this place…just don’t show up at 7:45 p.m., like us.

Leave a Reply

