Summer and Soups

Anyone that knows me, knows that I love soups!  I love soups all-year-round!  So, it’s no surprise that I would love a restaurant called Tanya’s Soup Kitchen.

I heard about this restaurant a long time ago when they were in a different location, but they closed shop before I could ever go there.  Then, a couple of months ago, our anchor, Larry Hatteberg, did a story on Tanya and her new location.  Also, phojo Rex is friends with Tanya and her husband.  So, it was only a matter of time that I would go there.  During one of our weekend lunch breaks we went to the new location and met Tanya.  She’s everything Larry had said about her.  From the brief conversation I had with her, I could tell she truly has a passion for cooking and serving great food to her customers.

We arrived after shooting our story and well after the lunch hour period…but it was still packed when we got there around 2:30 p.m. on a Saturday (more evidence that the food had to be delicious).

When we walked in there was a board that showed the daily soups (there are 4-6 soups made fresh daily).  The one that caught my eye was the gazpacho, especially after being outside shooting a story in the 105+ degree weather!  Another reason it caught my eye was because I love sweet corn and avocados and this gazpacho had both.  Might I also add, that it was delicious and perfect cold soup for summer!

I had the soup and half Chef’s Club sandwich combo.  The sandwich was delicious with the smoked turkey, bacon, and avocado.  I highly recommend the combo – – it filled me up but wasn’t so heavy that I couldn’t produce my story afterward.

Looking forward to more soups from Tanya’s Soup Kitchen.  I’m ready to go there again very soon…

Address: 1725 E. Douglas
Phone: (316) 267-7687
Closed on Sundays
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

