¡Que Rica La Comida Salvadoreña!

Rex and I at Restaurante Usuluteco

What do you get with $8.21? If you’re having lunch at Restaurante Usuluteco, you can get one chicken tamale, two pupusas, and a Coke in a bottle.

A couple of friends, including a law enforcement officer, told me about this small restaurant that serves food from El Salvador.

The restaurant was pretty easy to find. It’s just south of Pawnee on the northeast corner of Northern and Hydraulic, in a small shopping center. When we got inside, a friendly host/waiter helped us get seated and order our lunch.

Refreshing Coca Cola!

First thing on the menu were the pupusas, traditional Salvadoran dish. The pupusas look like stuffed patties but are made of corn and filled with a variety of fillings. My favorite was the revueltas, made of ground pork and mixed with cheese. It was perfect when I drizzled some mild sauce on top of it.

As a connoisseur of tamales, it was no surprise that I ordered a chicken tamale when I spotted it on the menu. It was perfect! The tamale reminded me of the ones I used to eat in Guatemala.

The meal was perfectly tied with a Coca Cola in a glass bottle, reminiscent of the ones I used to drink as a child. Although I hadn’t drunk a Coke in months, it was much-needed after having spent several hours outdoors covering stories in the 100+ degree weather.

My overall experience was excellent. I just wish I had room to eat the empanadas, filled with plantains. Guess I’ll just have to go back for round two that includes empanadas.

Tamales and pupusas

Address: 1714 E. Northern Avenue
Phone: (316) 409-3820
Closed on Mondays

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

